Main Menu

Uttarakhand Elections 2017: Congress Releases Candidate List Of 63 Contestants

Ahead of the Uttarakhand assembly elections, scheduled for February 15, the Congress has released a list of 63 candidates including incumbent Chief Minister Harish Rawat, who will contest from two seats. The decision was taken at a meeting of the party’s central election committee, chaired by Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, in New Delhi on January 21.

State ministers Indira Hridyesh, Surendra Singh and Dinesh Aggarwal will contest from Haldwani, Kotdwar and Dharampur constituencies respectively. Other Congress leaders included in the list are Mantri Prasad Naihani, Harish Chandra Durgapal and Goving Singh Kunjwal who have been respectively fielded from Deoprayag, Lalkuwa and Jageshwar.

The Uttarakhand polls will be a direct contest between the BJP and the Congress. According to news agency PTI, both parties are seeking a mandate on the agenda of development. Chief Minister Harish Rawat will also that the BJP-led Centre had dismissed the Congress-led state government till it was restored by the judiciary. The Congress has also roped in political strategist Prashant Kishor, whom Mr Rawat described as ‘Chyawanprash’, for the Uttarakhand polls.

Source :

Comments are Closed