Main Menu

Goa Assembly Election 2017 LIVE: Around 83 per cent turnout recorded

Voting for 40 Assembly seats in the coastal state of Goa has concluded with nearly 83 per cent voter turnout. Like Punjab, single-phase polling was held in the state which is witnessing a multi-cornered battle. The BJP-led NDA is currently in power in the state, where 251 candidates are in the fray.
Among the early voters on Saturday were Defence Minister and former Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar who cast his ballot in Panaji, while Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar voted in his coastal constituency of Mandrem, minutes after the polling started. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief ministerial candidate Elvis Gomes also cast his ballot.

Voting in Goa ends. Final voter turnout yet to be announced by the Election Commission
Goa has recorded an overall voter turnout of 67 per cent till 3 pm.
Voter turn out in North Goa 55 per cent, in South Goa 52 per cent.
Total voter turnout in Goa till 1 pm is 53 per cent.
“The BJP government has to go and will go. The RSS cadre in Goa will not vote for them. The Goa BJP and Parrikar are responsible for the maladies the state is suffering,” Velingkar said.
Former Goa Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh chief Subhash Velingkar cast his ballot in Panaji. Velingkar said that the alliance between the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, Goa Suraksha Manch and Shiv Sena would win 22 seats.
“Congress and BJP have been in power for five years each. People have seen how corrupt they are. People will vote for AAP,” Aam Aadmi Party’s Panaji candidate Valmiki Naik said earlier in the day.

Source : India Today

Comments are Closed