Main Menu

2019 Lok Sabha Poll Will BJP Win As ABVP Sweeps DUSU Election ?

abvp bjp

ABVP, the students’ wing of the BJP’s ideological parent RSS, has won the posts of DUSU president, vice president and joint secretary whereas the rival Congress’s students’ wing National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) bagged the secretary’s post. It may be a pleasant development for the Bharatiya Janata Party and its supporters. The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has won three out of four posts of the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU).

The DUSU election results portend ill for the Congress. Conversely, it may bring cheer on the faces of the BJP supporters.


This year’s DUSU election results are similar to those witnessed in 2013. The ABVP had won the posts of president, vice president and joint secretary in 2013 too. And in the next year’s Lok Sabha election, the BJP-led NDA trounced Manmohan Singh-led UPA government. With Narendra Modi as their prime ministerial candidate, the NDA bagged 325 of the 543 Lok Sabha seats. The BJP alone won 282 seats, 10 more than the majority mark of 272.

Will the BJP-led NDA come back to power again in 2019 Lok Sabha election. The DUSU and Lok Sabha elections have a coincidental link. On the past five occasions, the party which won the DU Students’ Union election went on to win the Lok Sabha election the next year. This happened in the Lok Sabha elections that took place a year after the DUSU elections held in 1997, 1998, 2003, 2008 and 2013.


In the 1997 DUSU election, the ABVP swept all the four posts of the president, vice-president, general secretary and joint secretary. The BJP-led NDA with late Atal Bihari Vajpayee as the prime minister came to power in the 1998 Lok Sabha election.


In the 1998 DUSU election, the ABVP won the two more significant posts of the president and general secretary while the NSUI was victorious on the posts of vice president and joint secretary. In the next year’s Lok Sabha election, the BJP-led NDA retained power.


In the 2003 DUSU election, the NSUI swept all the four posts. In the 2004 Lok Sabha election, BJP’s Vajpayee government lost to the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA).


In 2008, though the ABVP won the presidential post, it lost all the other three top slots to the arch-rival NSUI. BJP spokesperson Nupur Sharma trounced NSUI’s Sonia Sapra. But the ABVP was comprehensively defeated by the NSUI on the other three posts. This got reflected in the 2009 Lok Sabha election also as Manmohan Singh-led UPA government returned to power for a second consecutive term.


In the 2013 DUSU election, the ABVP candidates were victorious on the posts of the president, vice-president and joint secretary while the NSUI candidate could win only the secretary’s post.


In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the BJP-led NDA with Narendra Modi as their prime ministerial candidate came to power with a thumping majority.

Comments are Closed