Main Menu

2019 Lok Sabha Election : In Bihar New Voters Enrolment In Electoral Roll Begins


2019 Lok Sabha Election, Bihar’s deputy chief electoral officer (DCEO) Baijunath Kumar Singh, while taking to TOI over phone on Saturday. Foresaid all those people who would attain the age of 18 years across Bihar, could also directly use National Voters’ Service Portal (NVSP) portal for registration.

The process would continue till October 31 this year and all those people who would attain the age of 18 years on January 1, 2019, would be eligible for enrolment.The process for enrolment of new voters in electoral list for upcoming 17th Lok Sabha election scheduled to take place next year, began on Saturday in Bihar.
In addition, a special one day workshop for all district and deputy election officers would be held in Patna on September 5. Meanwhile, sources also said electronic voting machines (EVM) and Voter-verified paper audit trails (VVPAT), forlok sabha election result , have already been shipped to all districts of Bihar, almost a fortnight back.

The updating could also be done through website of Office of Chief Electoral Officer, Bihar, ( and Election Commission of India’s (ECI) web portal This process is called special summary revision of photo-electoral roll which takes place before every important election, Singh said. He also said last date for disposal of any type of claims by officials on application received during two months would be November 30. Final publication of electoral roll would take place on January 4 next year.

Sources from Office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Bihar, said one can approach office of booth level officer (BLO), block development officer (BDO), electoral registration officer (ERO) or sub-divisional magistrate (SDM) or district election officer (DEO) who is also the district magistrate (DM), for the purpose. Along with enrolment of new names, process of deletion or rectification of any type of error in the electoral roll, would also continue during same period. New voters could get enrolled by filling Form-6. For deletion of name due to death or other reason, one would have to fill up Form-7.
They also said Form-8 is for rectification of error in voter’s name in electoral list and Form-8A is for shifting of name from one polling station to another polling station within same assembly constituency. Non-resident Indians (NRI) would require to fill Form-6A for enrolment in electoral list.

Official communication has already been made. During first half, training for EVMs and VVPATs would be imparted while in second half, training for assisting persons with physical disability in voting would be held. While some DMs said Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat himself might reach Patna to take account of preparation on September 5, DCEO Singh said he yet can’t confirm who would be visiting that day.

Comments are Closed