Main Menu

Delhi poll dates announced: Voting on February 8, results on 11


​​​The term of the 70-member Delhi Assembly is ending on February 22 and a new House has to be constituted before that. The ruling Arvind Kejriwal led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government in Delhi is eyeing for a second consecutive term banking on a slew of announcement in the last one year.

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission of India on Monday announced the schedule for Delhi assembly elections. It would be a single-phase election for 70 assembly seats in Delhi on February 8 and counting of votes shall take place on February 11. “The Election Commission has also introduced a new concept of absentee voters this time,” said Sunil Arora, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC).
Model code of conduct has come into effect from Monday. “This election shall be on the performance of five years of our government,” said Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal addressing a press conference on Monday. “This will be the first election in India where people will vote for schools and hospitals.”

BJP, which has not been in power in Delhi for 20 years, is eyeing for an election win in the capital. “The people of Delhi have made up their mind to bring BJP in power,” said BJP Delhi poll incharge Prakash Javadekar.

Comments are Closed