Main Menu

Sunil Deshmukh

Dr. Sunil Panjabrao Deshmukh (born 28 May 1958) is the Member of Legislative Assembly from the constituency of Amravati, Maharashtra, India. He is a member of Bhartiya Janata Party. Earlier he belonged to the Indian National Congress (INC) which he quit in 2009 when he was denied a ticket to contest for Vidhansabha election from his Amravati constituency. He was also the Minister of State for Finance and Planning, Public Works and Energy in the cabinet of the Government of Maharashtra(2004-2009). He was also the guardian minister for Amravati and Bhandara Districts of Vidarbha, Maharashtra from 2004-2009. Additionally, he also served as the ex-officio Vice-Chairman of the Maharashtra State Electricity Board’s holding company and as the co-chairman of Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation Ltd.

He has been elected to the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly thrice from the constituency of Amravati. The first two times, he defeated his nearest contestant, Jagdish Motilal Gupta of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by about 10,000 votes and about 32,000 votes respectively. The third time, he defeated Raosaheb Shekhawat of the Indian National Congress by a margin of 35,072 votes.