Main Menu

Om Prakash Sharma

Om Prakash Sharma

Om Prakash Sharma (25 December 1924 – 14 October 1998) popularly known as Janpriya Lekhak Om Prakash Sharma, is recognized as one of the foremost and most talented writers of detective fiction in Hindi after Devaki Nandan Khatri. He has more than 450 Hindi detective novels to his credit.

About Om Prakash Sharma Ji

Sharma was born in Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, as eldest son to Shiv Charan and Devi. He later moved to Delhi. He has two younger brothers namely, Jai Prakash Sharma and Gauri Shankar Sharma. He was employed with the Delhi Cloth Mill (DCM) and lived in a rented house in Pahari Dhiraj. Later settled in Meerut and having four sons namely Mahendra Sharma, Surendra Sharma, Virendra Sharma.

A very thoughtful, erudite mind and a person of moral values, he worked for DCM and participated in trade union activities. Inspired from socialist and communist views, he joined the Indian Freedom Struggle and was jailed twice by the then British Raj for his involvement in the freedom movement. It was during this period that he started writing. His passion for writing developed from his obsession with reading. Several times in his creations, he has portrayed his rebellious attitude towards religious and social orthodoxy.